Mae Hong Son Travel Guide

Mae Hong Son The Land of Three Fog

The provinces of Northern Thailand have outstanding topography, cultural diversity, and a population comprising of various ethnic groups such as the Lanna (KhonMuang), Shan (Tai Yai), Chin Haw. Burmese, and hill tribe people like the Hmong (Miao), Lisu, Lahu, Lua, PwaKaNyaew Poe (Karen), etc. Their unique cultures are still well preserved while they peacefully live amongst each other in different cultural neighborhoods with no language or cultural barrier between them.

Many tourist attractions are preserved in their beautifully natural state. All seven districts of Mae Hong Son are full of tourist destinations and have many unique and

interesting festivals that await visitors to explore their traditional culture, folkway and contemporary lifestyle from the past to the present.

This is another popular tourism province in northern Thailand. There are some interesting statistics of it, for an instance, the 5th least crowded but also the 8th biggest town of the country.

However, Mae Hong Son is known as ‘The Land of Three Fog’, due to its atmosphere. When you enter the town, you will see a bunch of mountains around you. The climate is mostly foggy all year round.

The Short History Information 

Actually, Mae Hong Son wasn’t established as a province at first place. In the past, it was only a small area that many people loved to come in, reclaiming it building their own cottages and starting agriculture works. Most of these people were Thai, but there were also some other ethnic groups living on mountaintops.

Then, in the year 1874, it was established as a province by Inthawichayanon, who was the 7th ruler of Chiang Mai Province.

The Territory Information

mae hong son map

There are some other lands around Mae Hong Son.

Northern Side : Next to Myanmar

East Side : Next to Chiangmai Province

South Side : Next to Tak Province

West Side : Next to Myanmar (Some parts of Salween River)